10 Schools To Receive Lemak Awards


      The Lemak Awards, ten $5,000 need-based grant presented to selected member high schools each year by the Lemak Group and Dr. Lawrence Lemak, are once again being awarded at Friday night’s Championship Coaches Awards Banquet at the Montgomery Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center.
      Schools receiving the grants for the 2013-14 school year include Ashford, Chickasaw, Francis Marion, J.F. Shields, LaFayette, Loachapoka, Montevallo, Oakman, Phil Campbell and Southside-Selma.

      The Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) hosts the banquet which closes out the 2014 Summer Conference for the member schools. Ninety head coaches who led their teams to AHSAA state championships in 2013-14 will also be honored at the banquet as well as the State Athletic Director of the Year.
      In addition to the Lemak Award presentations, six individuals, one from each of the six classifications of the AHSAA, will also receive the 2014 Making A Difference Award. This year’s recipients are: 

      Class 1A: J.F. Shields boys basketball coach and athletic director Jerome Sanders; Class 2A: Goshen softball and volleyball coach Amy Warrick; Class 3A: Piedmont football coach and athletic director Steve Smith; Class 4A: Ardmore athletic director Rusty Bates; Class 5A: Brewer head volleyball and assistant girls basketball coach Ron Smith; Class 6A: Bob Jones principal Robby Parker.
      The Making A Difference Award was established in 2011 by the AHSAA and AHSADCA to recognize individuals who go beyond their normal duties as a coach, teacher or administrator to make a positive impact in their schools and communities. This year’s recipients include one principal, one full-time athletic director, a head football coach, head boys basketball coach, head volleyball coach and head softball coach

      Dr. Lemak, through his work as co-chairman of the AHSAA Medical Advisory Board and through his kindness and concern for our student-athletes, has been a dedicated servant of the AHSAA’s member schools.
      A total of 65 high schools since 2008 have received the grant, which now totals $180,000, counting the 2014 awards.

      Saturday’s Officials’ Awards luncheon at the Renaissance will officially close out the week.