Thompson, Arab and Tallassee Capture State Championships

      Thompson High School became the first Class 6A school since Vestavia Hills to win four straight large-school state wrestling championships as Coach Shawn Weltzin’s Warriors posted 186 points to claim the 2014 AHSAA state title. 

      Vestavia Hills, which won four in row from 1998-2001, finished second Saturday with 150.5 points. Auburn and Prattville tied for third with 129.5 points each.
      Thompson placed three wrestlers in the winners’ circle with Riley Pike (51-11) winning at 120 pounds, Jaden Hunter (50-6) at 132 pounds, and T.J. Rayam (60-6) at 285 pounds.
      Arab outscored runner-up Southside-Gadsden 148.5 to 109.5 to win its second straight Class 5A state crown. The Knights of Coach Michael Pruitt had four wrestlers claim individual titles with John David Henderson closing out a 63-0 season with a title at 132 pounds.
      B.J. Hayes (50-2) won at 113 pounds, Nick Cater (51-2) won at 126 pounds and Jacob Spencer (44-1) won at 220 pounds.
      Tallassee, coached by John Mask, won its first state title with 143.5 points in the Class 1A-4A division. St. James, the 2013 state champs, finished second with 96.5 points.
      Tallassee’s individual champions were Kennon Reese (44-8) at 126 pounds, Josh Epperson (51-4) at 132 pounds, D.J. Rivers (12-2) at 152 pounds, B.J. Thomas (46-7) at 160 pounds, Drew Baker (49-8) at 182 pounds and Davontae McKenzie (50-7) at 195 pounds.    

Scottsboro’s Brandon Womack Wins 6th State Title
      Scottsboro High School senior Brandon Womack closed out his amazing prep wrestling career with a quick pin in the Class 5A 160-pound state wrestling finals. It was the sixth state title – making him the second wrestler in AHSAA history to reach that milestone. Weaver’s Michael Sutton was the first to win six in a row from 1999-2004.
      Womack finished the season 77-0 and his prep career 422-8 – making him the AHSAA’s all-time wins leader. His 77 wins without a defeat is also the best unbeaten single-season in state history.
      The Cornell signee was named the MVP of the Class 5A championships as well.
      Arick Shankle of Muscle Shoals won the 106-pound championship with a pin over Braxton Worthington of Mortimer Jordan and earned most pins honors with three pins in just 1:50 for the meet. He finished his season 64-1.
      In addition to Womack and Henderson, Cody Mize of Calera finished unbeaten at 51-0 to win the 1A-4A 170-pound title. The senior captured his third straight state title.
      Nicholas Weldon of Clay-Chalkville won the 182-pound Class 6A title to finish 43-0 and Haden Ryals of Southside won the 152-pound title in 5A to wind up 51-0 on the season.
      Jamario Howard (34-1) of Lincoln, the 145-pound champ, was named MVP of the 1A-4A meet, and Griffen Ridgeway (39-4) of Bob Jones, who won the 145-pound 6A championship, was named MVP.
      Team scoring and final match results can be found at


Corporate Partners