Hoover Named USA Football Network's National Champ

      Hoover High School and California’s St. John Bosco High School of Bellflower have been selected the 2013 USA Football Network High School Football National Champions.
      For the first time in the annual poll’s 19-year history, the national poll was separated into Public School and Non-Public School Divisions. Journalists of the national broadcast and print media as well as members of the Football Writers of America, New York Football Writers Association, New England Football Writers Association, Philadelphia-Area Football Writers along with Midwestern, Southeast and Western Football Writers organizations participated in the selection process.

     The Class 6A state champion Bucs of Coach Josh Niblett received the Public School honor while St. John Bosco High School was named the Non-Public School national champion.
     Hoover defeated Auburn 20-3 to win the AHSAA Super 6 Class 6A title, ending its season 15-0 and extending its current winning streak to 30 games. The Bucs, who hold the AHSAA Class 6A state record for football championships (10), have won eight big-school titles in the last 14 seasons and have five runner-up finishes in that span. Since 2000 the team has failed to reach the state finals just once (in 2007).
We are extremely proud of our football team, Coach Niblett and our coaching staff for obtaining this incredible honor,” said Hoover High School Athletic Director Myra Miles, the current president of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association. “No program works as hard as our kids and coaches, and I am thrilled that they are being recognized nationally for their dedication, commitment and hard work.”
It was the fourth state championship coached by Niblett and his third at Hoover. The Bucs have been in the state finals every year since he took over as head coach in 2008 with state titles in 2009, 2012 and 2013 and runner-up finishes in 2008, 2010 and 2011. He also coached Oneonta to the 3A state championship in 2004 and a runner-up finish in 2003.
     Niblett is one of just a dozen coaches in the AHSAA to lead teams to four or more state titles.    
     He and his team will be presented the USA Football Network Trophy by the Honorable Jack Williams (Dist. 47) of the Alabama House of Representatives at halftime ceremonies of the 20th USA Football Bowl on Monday, Jan. 20. The game, currently the nation’s third oldest college senior all-star game behind the East–West Shrine Game and Senior Bowl, will be played at the Hoover Met this year.  Hoover is the first AHSAA school to claim the USA High School Football Network national championship. The award was first presented in 1995.
    St. John Bosco’s Braves (16-0) defeated four-time defending California champion and perennial national power De La Salle of Concord 20-14 to end the Spartans 40-game winning streak and was awarded the California State Championship by Cal-Hi Sports.
    Spanish Fort (15-0) ranked 26th in the final USA High School Football national rankings, while Madison Academy (15-0) was 24th in the Non-Public final poll. The Toros of Coach Mark Freeman won the 5A state title for the second year in a row, and the Mustangs of Coach Eric Cohu won the 3A state championship for the second straight season.

   The USA High School Football final Top 50 Polls for the Public and Non-Public Divisions may be viewed HERE.


USA High School Football, Inc. National Champions (1995-2013)


2013 –  Hoover Buccaneers (Hoover, AL) 15-0-0

2012 – John Curtis Christian High School Patriots (River Ridge, LA) 14-0

2011 – Don Bosco Prep Ironmen (Ramsey, NJ) 11-0

2010 – St. Edward High School Eagles (Lakewood, OH ) 15-0

2009 – Don Bosco Prep Ironmen (Ramsey, NJ) 12-0

2008 – St. Thomas Aquinas Raiders (Fort Lauderdale, FL) 15-0

2007 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 13-0

2006 – Carroll Dragons (Southlake, TX) 16-0

2005 – St. Xavier Bombers (Cincinnati, OH) 15-0

2004 – Independence Patriots (Charlotte, NC) 15-0

2003 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 13-0

2002 – Parkview Panthers (Lilburn, GA) 15-0

2001 – Jenks Trojans (Jenks, OK) 13-0

2000 – Cathedral Prep Ramblers (Erie, PA) 14-0

1999 – Evangel Christian Eagles (Shreveport, LA) 14-0

1998 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 12-0

1997 – Central Bucks CB West (Doylestown, PA) 15-0

1996 – Hampton Crabbers (Hampton, VA) 14-0

1995 – Berwick Bulldogs (Berwick, PA) 15-0



Corporate Partners